top of page


2024-25 Season


Master List of offered repertory

Thomas Adès:  “Arcadiana” (1994)
Beethoven:  Quartet in C-Major, Op. 59, No. 3
Beethoven:  Quartet in F-minor, Op. 95
Berg:  String Quartet, Op. 3
Charlotte Bray:  “U
ngrievable Lives” (composed for Castalian Quartet in 2022) click here for brief description of this work

 Samuel Coleridge-Taylor:  Five Fantasiestücke, Op. 5 (1895)
Haydn:  Quartet in G-minor, Op. 20, No. 3

György Kurtag:  Six Moments Musicaux, Op. 44 (2005)
Schubert:  Quartet movement in C-minor, D 703 (“Quartettsatz”)
Schubert:  Quartet in A-minor, D 804 (“Rosamunde”)
Schubert:  Quartet in D-minor, D 810 (“Death and the Maiden”)
Schubert:  Quartet in G-Major, D 887
Mark-Anthony Turnage:  “Awake” (composed for Castalian Quartet in 2021) 
click here for brief description of this work



Specific suggested programs:

Program 1:  Haydn 20/3; Adès “Arcadiana” // Schubert “Death & the Maiden”

Program 2:  Schubert “Rosamunde”; Kurtag Op. 44 // Coleridge-Taylor Op. 5; Beethoven Op. 95

Program 3:  Schubert “Quartettsatz”; Berg Op. 3 // Beethoven Op. 59/3

Program 4:  Haydn 20/3;Turnage; Bray // Schubert Quartet in G-Major, D 887

Other combinations from the above are possible.  Please let us know your preference and we will consult the quartet.

Charlotte Bray “Ungrievable Lives” – brief description


Charlotte Bray's Ungrievable Lives, written for the Castalian Quartet, explores the journey refugees embark on. It is inspired by Caroline Burraway's artwork: refugees' discarded life jackets collected from Greece, sown into 13 children's dresses. In response, the quartet comprises of 13 miniature movements, evoking memory, absence and loss, but also child's play on a lifeboat, a torchlight on the waves in the darkness, and shifting sands of cultural and political borders.

Mark-Anthony Turnage “Awake” – brief description

Mark-Anthony Turnage’s “Awake” (2021) is a two movement work inspired by Rita Dove’s collection of poems, “Sonata Mulaticca”, about the life of the mixed-race 19th Century violin virtuoso George Bridgetower, for whom Beethoven originally dedicated his 1804 violin sonata now known as the “Kreuzter”. The Castalian String Quartet commissioned ”Awake” to mark 100 years since Leos Janacek composed his first string quartet, “Kreutzer Sonata”, which references Leo Tolstoy’s 1889 novella of the same name. “Awake” will be premiered at the Edinburgh International Festival in August 2023.  



bottom of page