top of page

théotime langlois de swarte

"Baroque violin-playing of the highest calibre"—Gramophone

"Vivaldi’s Four Seasons at 300"
with Les Arts Florissants
Available March 15 - April 10, 2025

messe venitienne DSC3861.jpg

Théotime joins one of the world's most celebrated Baroque orchestras for performances marking the 300th anniversary of Vivaldi's Four Seasons. 

When published in 1725 nobody could imagine Vivaldi’s Opus 8, Nos. 1-4 (“The Four Seasons”) would become perhaps the most frequently heard music of all time.  Yet today, 300 years on, they remain as popular as ever. 

This program frames these iconic works in a new light.  Their overtly narrative style (Vivaldi included sonnets – perhaps written himself - alongside the music) invites questions about the fleeting, cyclical nature of our existence, our relationship with nature, and the eternal renewal of earth’s cycles, now being modified by climate change.

The opening Monteverdi brings us to a Venice prior to Vivaldi’s birth.  The “Madrigalesco” concerto shows Vivaldi paying homage to the master, echoing Monteverdi’s bold harmonic approach, and thus providing a bridge between this earlier style and 18th century virtuosity. 

Uccellini’s “Bergamasca” plunges us into the improvisational practices of the Venetians, with a bass line familiar from today’s pop music.

“La Follia” and “Tempesta di Mare” demonstrate Vivaldi’s frequent observations of man’s interaction with the environment, of which “The Four Seasons” is the apex.

Program (14 musicians):

Claudio Monteverdi (1567 -1643) Adoramus te, SV 289, transcription.  (5 minutes)


Antonio Vivaldi  (1678–1741) Concerto for strings and basso continuo  “

Madrigalesco” R.V. 129 (4’)


Marco Uccellini (1603-1680) : Bergamasca (4’)

Vivaldi:  RV 813 concerto in D minor (9’)

Vivaldi:  Follia op.1 n°12 (10’)

Violin Concerto in E flat major  RV 253 "La Tempesta di Mare"


Vivaldi:  “The Four Seasons”

bottom of page